Reviews

If you wish to read about Trevarner Guest House please follow the links below. If you have visited us we would welcome your reviews.

Here are some recent guest reviews:

11/09/19 – What a find; great location with fabulous view from guests lounge on first floor + a telescope so you can watch the enormous cruise liners leaving port….personally I prefer to be on dry land !! Just across the road from a great pub with reasonable food prices and a view to take your breath away + a huge scale model of the Queen Mary Fab breakfast and very friendly owners…what more can you ask for. Please book me again to give a talk down there as I would love to return 🙂   (Booking.Com).

10/09/19 – The hosts were friendly & professional.  Everything was as it should be.  (Booking.Com).

09/09/19 – A good port in a storm.  Liked the excellent breakfast, many choices. On site parking.  (Booking.Com).

08/09/19 – Great location with parking on site. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Charming hosts.  (Booking.Com).

07/09/19 – Great place to stay, owners were lovely.  Welcoming – clean guest house lovely comfortable bed great breakfasts would definitely recommend.  (Booking.Com).

6th-7th/09/19 – Lovely place to stay. Wonderful hosts and will come again, when we come again.  (Visitors Book)

04/09/19 – A very warm and comfortable welcome.  Perfect hosts and so beautifully placed.  (Visitors Book).

03/09/19 – How fortunate we were to stay at this lovely guest house. Perfect hosts made us so welcome, we certainly will be back.  (Visitors Book)

08/09/19 – Found the hosts to be very friendly & keep a nice place nice.  (Google.com).

27/08/19 – Breakfast was great and really accommodating for a vegetarian! Location was superb, right opposite the beach.  (Booking.Com).

26/08/19 – Very friendly and had great views.  Fantastic stay and wonderful owners who were so helpful with the things we needed.  (Booking.Com).

25/08/19 – Liked how cosy the room was and how welcoming the place looked and the staff were very warm welcoming and helpful.  (Booking.Com).

16/08/19 – Very clean and the breakfast was amazing.  (Booking.Com).

09/08/19 – Right by the sea and enjoyed the freshness of the air without a fan at night.  (Booking.Com).

05/08/19 – It was all good!  (Booking.Com).

26/07/19 – Excellent and would stay again. The owners were both very friendly and welcoming and the room was great. (Booking.Com).

18/07/19 – Wonderful central place to stay with ensuite rooms and free parking available.  (Airbnb).

11/07/19 – An altogether very nice experience.  Excellent value for money and very clean. Would recommend.  (Booking.Com).

06/07/19 – Very clean and very friendly host.  (Booking.Com).

05/07/19 – Good quality facilities, friendly hosts and good value.  (Booking.Com).

01/07/19 – Fabulous hosts.  Thank you for a wonderful stay.  (Visitors Book).

30/06/19 – Very pleasant hosts and great location.  (Booking.Com).

29/06/19 – My husband and I had the family room just for the two of us, which was attractively presented, immaculately clean and spacious. Our hosts were so pleasant and gave us superb breakfasts each morning, with a wide choice for everyone. It felt like home-from-Home with a wonderful position directly opposite the sea. A few yards on the opposite side we found a great pub, Osborne View, and indulged in delicious home made cake and coffee for £3.95 each. Highly recommend Trevaner to everyone and will definitely return next year. We particularly loved the guest lounge on the first floor looking out over the sea, with a useful telescope and games to keep you occupied should you so wish. Very peaceful all round.  (TripAdvisor).

24/06/19 – It was very peaceful very close to the sea lovely breakfast very clean.  (Booking.Com).

24/06/19 – Fantastic location, very clean and comfortable.  (Booking.Com).

16/06/19 – Fantastic property a stones throw away from the coast. Well presented, clean and tidy. Lovely.  Everything. Excellent location, staff and rooms.  (Booking.Com).

13/06/19 – We have just returned from spending 4 nights at The Trevarner whilst visiting family in Hampshire. This is an excellent Guest House in a superb location with its 1st floor guest lounge (and telescope!) giving great views across the Solent to the Isle of Wight. Owners, Kate and Tony were most welcoming and helpful throughout our stay (even telling us where to pick the best strawberries!). We had Room no.6 – a very comfortable double with en-suite. Normally we don’t eat a cooked breakfast but Kate’s (with a little help from Tony!) were delicious and very filling leaving no room for lunch. There was also a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, fruit etc. We highly recommend The Trevarner and look forward to returning.  (TripAdvisor).

10/06/19 – Charming place, the rooms surround a large dining area in the heart of the unusual building.  The hosts were like visiting old friends and the breakfast was cooked fresh.  Recommended.  (Booking.Com).

06/06/19 to 10/06/19 – Thank you Kate and Tony for a lovely stay.  Delicious breakfast, excellent room and the sun l ounge with its telescope and views was exceptional.  (Visitors book).

04/06/19 – Good breakfast, comfortable room, good location, proximity to nature reserve.  (Booking.Com).

15/05/19 – Das Zimmer war sauber, die B&B Besitzer total nett, das Frühstück lecker und der Strand ist nur 2 Gehminuten entfernt.  (Booking.Com).

Translation:  The room was clean, the B&B owners really nice, the breakfast tasty and the beach just a 2 minute walk away.

05/05/19 – It was perfect like coming home really enjoyed my stay….beaches walks pubs all at hand great brekkie plenty choice and perfect hosts.  (Booking.Com).

05/05/19 – Many thanks for a lovely stay.  We loved our room and breakfast was delicious.  (Visitors book).

03/05/19 – Very welcoming. Comfortable room and lovely breakfast.  (Booking.Com).

25/04/19 – Excellent little gem of a guesthouse!  Conmfy bed, excellent breakfast, reasonable price.  All was excellent.  (Booking.Com).

23/04/19 – It was so nice that we stayed an extra night.  (Booking.Com).

23/04/19 – Thanks.  Excellent breakfast!  (Visitors book).

21/04/19 – Very friendly hosts, room was very big and very clean , food in and around the place was excellent , definitely will recommended it.  (Booking.Com).

20/04/19 – Excellent location, owners were very friendly & the breakfast was delicious. (Booking.Com).

18/04/19 – Very clean, well presented. Breakfast cooked to order with perfect poached eggs.  (Booking.Com).

14/04/19 – Excellent stay, great place and friendly helpful owners.  (Booking.Com).

31/03/19 – Friendly, comfortable B&B with excellent breakfast.  The owners are always very friendly and helpful.  It’s an area I know well, and always a pleasant stay.  (Booking.Com).

30/03/19 – Good value.  I was out very early so skipped breakfast. Basic room but clean and comfortable.  Friendly welcome.  (Booking.Com).

28/03/19 – Very good will stay again.  Breakfast excellent.  Everyone at venue very friendly. Lovely location in that excellent pub across the road over looking Solent serving good food at good prices.  Nice place to relax after work.  Will definitely use Trevarner when next in the area.  (Bookin.Com).

24/03/19 – Lovley place really relaxing would definitely recommend. (Google Reviews).

13/03/19 – Pleasant and friendly.  All round excellent Bed & Breakfast.  (Booking.Com).

06/03/19 – Very clean, super friendly hosts, great value. It was a last minute, two night booking so when I arrived I explained that I was allergic to wheat and said I would be absolutely fine to just have fruit and yoghurt for breakfast. But on my second morning they had gluten free sausages and bread for me. I would definitely stay here again.  (Booking.Com).

05/03/19 – Excellent food. Hospitality very good. Thank you. (Visitors Book).

25/02/19 – Excellent from beginning to end.  The room was lovely and cosy.  A warm welcome by the owner. Breakfast was awesome.  I enjoyed my stay and will definitely return.  (Booking.Com).

23/02/19 – Was very good for the price, would use again.  Nice and clean very comfy and nice and quiet.  (Booking.Com).

18/02/19 – Friendly hosts in an interesting hotel with a range of rooms to suit what you need. Even though I chose a single room with shared bathroom, the layout having the bathroom next door made it feel very comfortable, plus my room had its own sink. Coffee/tea facilities in a comfortable clean room and various breakfast options cooked to suit made the stay very enjoyable.  (Booking.Com).

18/02/19 – A lovely little b&b. Very clean and tidy and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was fab. The room was charming with en-suite facilities. Highly recommended. Local to a pub which was nice and served food so no need to drive elsewhere.  (Tripadvisor).

04/02/19 – Very warm welcome there wasn’t anything to dislike.  Stay was very comfortable and convenient for us because we were visiting our granddaughter.  (Booking.Com).

02/02/19 – Enjoyable.  Was such a homely place.  (Booking.Com).

27/01/19 – I was in the area for the weekend visiting friends and this was perfect for what I was after, a bed for the night, a lovely breakfast and great views as a bonus. Thanks Kate, I will definitely be down to stay again. (Airbnb).

05/12/18 – Kate’s place is good and ideal for Fareham etc.  Will return back if in the area.  (Airbnb).

04/12/18 – Excellent!  Thanks.  The vegan breakfast was delicious.  (Visitors book – from France).

30/11/18 – Its my second time at Trevarner Guest house. Very nice and quiet location by the sea. Very nice and friendly. It feels like being at home Excellent breakfast.  (Booking.Com).

26/11/18 – Highly recommended.  (Airbnb)

09/11/18 – Good, unpretentious B&B, with clean and comfortable rooms and breakfast cooked to order.  (Booking.Com)

02/11/18 – Good hospitality.  Very good breakfast.  Good choice.  Thank you.  (Visitors book – from Coventry).

23/10/18 – Thank you both for such a relaxing and comfortable stay over the last three weeks.  Delicious breakfast, all home comforts and more.  The view from the top sun loounge is excellent, and time to just sit and stare at the yachts etc.  (Visitors book – from Kent).

30/08/18 – Friendly & welcoming hosts. Great location for visiting Stubbington & Fareham, & only short walk to pub with good food & lovely views. Clean & comfortable accommodation, & very good breakfast. We will definitely book at Trevarner Guest House for future visits to the area.  (Airbnb).

21/08/18 – My gran great gran and aunty stayed here . They could not be more impressed with the owners who were perfect hosts. The breakfasts was amazing . The best of any bed and breakfast they had been before. We would recommend this to anyone who required accommodation . The price was excellent.  (Google reviews).

31/07/18 – Really lovely place, great hosts, very clean & a 10/10 breakfast! Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay on the south coast.  (Airbnb).

21/07/18 – Just a quick note to say thank you for hosting my family.  They were extremely impressed and described it as the best B&B they have ever stayed at.  Notable comments included:  Value, Cleanliness (they commented that you could smell the freshness of the bedding whilst drifting off to sleep), Friendliness and hosting,  Breakfast, The lounge area and the view.  You will undoubtedly be top of our list for future visits.  (Received by e-mail).

14/07/18 – Kate was a great host and was very accommodating to last minute changes to plans on our part. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend to everyone.  (airbnb).

13/07/18 – Great place friendly hosts, I will definitely be back, I’ve found a gem!  (airbnb).

18/06/18 – We stayed here in May 2018 whilst attending a wedding nearby. We received a lovely warm welcome from the owners upon our arrival and they were extremely helpful and informative throughout our stay. The bedroom and bathroom were lovely, spacious and clean. The guest house is in a superb location and the views are beautiful! The breakfast was outstanding! We will definitely be booking again on our next visit!!  (TripAdvisor)

28/05/18 – Thank you for a very comfortable stay and warm welcome.  (Visitors book – from Warwickshire).

06/05/18 – A clean, quiet and comfortable place to stay with great hosts. What more could you want.  (airbnb).

22/04/18 – Enjoyed our stay, comfy beds and lovely breakfast.  (Visitors book).

31/03/18 – Stunning location, beautiful house, lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts – and excellent value for money. Communication was great too. Would definitely stay here again and recommend.  (airbnb).

14/02/18 – Great location right on the waterfront. Nice clean and cosy accommodation. The owners are welcoming and friendly. I felt very comfortable during my stay. Great breakfast!  (airbnb).

27/01/18 – Lovely stay, great breakfast and plenty of fruit juice!  Very comfy bed too, thank you.  (Visitors book – from Surrey).

08/09/17 – “Excellent sized room, well equipped and comfortable bed. Good bathroom. Friendly host. great location with easy access to the sea, promenade walk and beach Very good and tasty breakfast , lots of choices Ticks all the boxes for a B&B”.  (tripadvisor from – Exeter).

24/07/17 – “Thank you for a comfortable and very enjoyable stay!  Delicious breakfast! ” (Visitors book – from Coventry).

22/07/17 – “Lovely rooms – many thanks.”  (Visitors book from – Buckinghamshire)

02/07/17 – “Very comfortable and lovely breakfast.”  (Visitors book – from Devon).

22/06/17 – “Lovely family run guest HOUSE!! Fantastic location, by the Sea, clean and tidy , great breakfast! Will recommend to others.”  (Google reviews)

27-29/05/17 – “Friendly homely.  Comfortable good cooking.  Thank you.”  (Visitors book – from Dorset).

06/05/17 – “Lovely food.  Excellent host.  Thank you very much.”  (Visitors book – from Wiltshire).

18/09/16 – “Thanks for the great stay!  And for the hospitality and our friends for the recommendation.”  (Visitors book – from California, USA).

Sept 2016 – “I stayed at this guest house with my sister-in-law between 4 – 7th August 2016.  It was such a lovely homely place, really peaceful, the owner Kate was nice, breakfast was amazing and cooked fresh every morning to your choice.  I would recommend this to anyone looking for a nice rest if visiting relatives as I was.”  (Google reviews).

I21/08/16 – “Really comfy stay, friendly hosts, delicious food!”  (Visitors book – from Clacton On sea).

09/08/16 – “Lovely stay, clean rooms fantastic breakfast.  Very friendly hostess.  Highly recommended.”  (Visitors book – Stoke On Trent ).

07/08/16 – “Really lovely place to stay, great time had, lovely breakfast, lovely people.  Would recommend.”  (Visitors book – from Wolverhampton)

29/02/16 to 03/03/16 – “Hostess with the most!  Breakfast to die for, room and bed great, duvet fab.  Location and views great.”  (Visitors book – from Leicester)

14/12/15 – “Lovely people, rooms and breakfast.”  (Visitors book – from Surrey )

14/12/15 – “Very friendly and hospitable service. ” (Visitors book – from Mallorca)

21/11/15 – “A very warm and comfortable accommodation.”  (Visitors book – from Stoke on Trent)

28/05/15 – “Warm welcome.  Clean, comfortable, good location.  Good hearty breakfast.  Thanks for your kindness Kate.”  (Visitors book – from Northamptonshire)

24/05/15 – “Lovely place, very friendly.  Fantastic breakfast.  Hope to come back again many thanks.”  (Visitors book – from North Yorkshire)

18/05/15 – “Fantastic, very friendly.  Great breakfast.  Great location.”  (Visitors book – from Cornwall)

03/05/15 – “Great time, really enjoyed view from sun lounge lovely time, good knowledge from hosts.”  (Visitors book – from Worcester)

11/04/15 – “Great breakfast.  Thank you, everything we needed.”  (Visitors book – from Middlesex)

29/03/15 – “The Best!!”  (Visitors book)

05/11/15 – “Ein gant toller pmfenthatt!  So nette Giastgeber, sanbere and gepflegte unterkienft! Wir kommen wieder!!!!”    Translation:  “Fantastic stay!  Such nice hosts, clean and lovely accommodation!  We will be back!!!”  (Visitors book – from Germany)

26/10/14 – “Lovely stay, in a beautiful part of England.  Top kippers; many thanks.”  (Visitors book – from Devon)

30/08/14 – “The best guest house with everything and more.  Special memories.”  (Visitors book)

30/08/14 – “Excellent stay, cleanliness 1st class, comfortable in every way thanks for everything – will be back.”  (Visitors book – from Barnsley)

07/07/14 – “Lovely stay in very comfortable accommodation, excellent food, excellent views.”  (Visitors book – from Wales)

29/06/14 – “Nice stay, nice breakfast.  Thank you.”  (Visitors book)

22/06/14 – “Wonderful – from start to finish.  The perfect place to stay.  Thank you!!  See you again.”  (Visitors book)

27/04/14 – “Lovely stay, felt at home, delicious breakfast.  Great location.  Owners are great.  My family have been many times before and we will always come back here.”  (Visitors book – from Australia)

10/04/14 – “Lovely rooms.  Well catered for with fantastic views from doorstep.”  (Visitors book – from Derby)

06/04/14 – “Lovely place.  V. friendly breakfast!!  Will be back!!”  (Visitors book – from Northamptonshire)

03/02/14 – “Thanks a lot – comfy bed and great breakfast – we’ll be back!!!”  (Visitors book – West Donegal)

18/01/14 – “Lovely stay and fantastic breakfast.”  (Visitors book )

20/12/13 – “Many thanks again, very comfortable.”  (Visitors book – from Derbyshire)

26/08/13 – “I have had a wonderful time.  Superb hosts, excellent breakfast.  Wonderful value for money.”  (Visitos book – from Wales)

10/08/13 – “Great value, excellent food, very friendly.”  (Visitors book – from Spain)

06/08/13 – “Excellent! Thanks.”  (Visitors book – from California, USA)

31/07/13 – “As a long standing regular – I could not recommend the place and hospitality highly enough.”  (Visitors book – from Surrey)

27/07/13 – “Lovely, clean and welcoming guest house comfortable stay and recommend to others.”  (Visitors book – from South Yorkshire)

12/08/12 – “Great time.”  (Visitors book – from Oxfordshire)

09/08/12 – “Very welcoming and friendly.  Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, thank you.”  (Visitors book – from West Yorkshire)

14/07/12 – “Welcoming and friendly, great breakfast.”  (Visitors book – from Hampshire)

25/06/12 – “Very comfortable and welcoming.  Will call again.”  (Visitors book – from Bolton)

03/06/12 – “Lovely people, lovely food/hospitality, accommodation excellent, thank you.”  (Visitors book – from Bradford)

22/05/12 – “Very comfortable Good food – piping hot and cooked with first class produce.  Thanks.”  (Visitors book – from Widnes)

12/05/12 – “Lovely and relaxing peaceful sleep in Room 4.  Thank you Kate.”  (Visitors Book – from Wiltshire)

08/05/12 – “All over Excellent.”  (Visitors Book – from London)

26/04/12 – “Very nice and friendly owner. I stayed in the back bedroom which had a double bed and a single bed in it. Kate (the owner) charged me just £40 which I thought was amazing value. The room isn’t en-suite but it has a private bathroom right next door. The room is a very good size, the bed was so comfortable I just sank into it after a long and tiring drive. Pillows sooo soft and the room so quiet that I slept better than I’ve done for ages. Good shower in the morning. Plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries supplied. Fab breakfast. Fresh eggs from their own hens. Fresh juice, cereals and toast. The view from the house is gorgeous – looks right out over the Solent. Own parking spaces. Thank you Kate.”

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business (Tripadvisor)

14/04/12 – “Thank you for a lovely stay.  Food delicious & hospitality great!”  (Visitors book – from Buckinghamshire)

16/01/12 – “Very nice stay, lovely breakfast!”  (Visitors book – from Gloucestershire)

20/11/11 – “Hope to return another time.  It’s been lovely!!”  (Visitors book – from Manchester)

01/11/11 – “Excellent!  First class breakfast!”  (Visitors book – from Hampshire)

30/10/11 – “Nice and friendly, nice breakfast.  Very nice!!”  (Visitors book – from West Yorkshire)

24/09/11 – “Lovely accommodation, breakfast.  Lovely people, thank you.”  (Visitors book – from Devon)

02/09/11 – “Very friendly welcome and service. The room and en suite was perfect, comfortable and well presented. Bed was extremely comfortable!
Ideal location for beach and travelling around local area. Very pleasant, easy walks – Titchfield Haven just a short walk away.
Interesting pub, offering good menu just across the road – enjoys views across to the Isle of Wight.
Other possibilities for evening meals within walking distance as well as local shops.
Kate’s breakfasts are fantastic – scrambled egg (eggs from own chickens) melted in the mouth!
I look forward to staying at the Trevarner again very soon.” (Tripadvisor)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo

01/09/11 – “This B&B is in a perfect location for the beach (just across the road) and fantastic views of the sea and Isle of Wight.

We stayed on the Saturday night of the Bank Holiday Weekend. The proprietors were very welcoming and friendly. They are new to the B&B business, but you wouldn’t have thought so.

We stayed in one of the back rooms, which had an ensuite bath and shower. The kingsize bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.

The cooked breakfast was very tasty and filling.

This B&B represents excellent value for money.”

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friend  (Tripadvisor)

07/08/11 – “We’ve had a splendid stay and hope to come again.  thanks for everything.”  (Visitors book – from Kent).

06/08/11 – “Very welcoming and enjoyable stay.  Will come again.  Thanks!”  (Visitors book – from Surrey).

25/07/11 – “Very nice time, nice and friendly, food great.  Thanks.”  (Visitors book – from Cheshire)

15/07/11 – “Lovely accommodation delicious breakfast.  Thank you.”  (Visitors book – from Scotland)